A disciples journey

///Bolted Redemption/// -TM-

My last visit to the Doctor was productive, but not exactly what I was hoping for. I’ll start with the bad news; my bone growth is really dragging along. There is an improvement from last time but not much. When I look at the x-ray you can see all the bone fragments, and then a white haze outlining the bone pieces. The “haze” is the new bone developing. On the bright side the doc has given me the green light to start using the leg again, but I can only put 25lbs on it. The rest must be distributed among the crutches. My leg is weak and can barely handle the 25! If you think about it, only what muscles I have left and the steel bar, that is bolted in me, are supporting the weight.

Yesterday I walked down my street and back(only one block), and that nearly killed me! Once I was back in the house I had a chest pain and couldn’t breathe. Today my legs are sore and every time I move I feel as if I am about to get a Charlie Horse. I’m slowly building up and hoping to be able to use only a cane, to help me walk, by November. It is difficult to not let this relearning dampen my mood. I really have to trust in what Christ is working in me. I literally don’t know how to walk anymore. I have to constantly concentrate on making the proper motion with my left leg. It is a very humbling experience, not to mention embarrassing. You never realize how much you take for granted until it is taken away. The funny thing people hear that all the time, but yet still take some of the simplest things for granted.

“Learning to walk again”

///Clay///

2 responses

  1. freshcoffey

    Agreed about the embarrassing part. I have less of an excuse but limping around is still somewhat of a downer to the pride. Otherwise, itll prolly take a while with the muscle growth etc. You had em cut torn etc. and it may take a while to get all that back but I am confident that you will make it through!
    PeACe
    daneK

    September 8, 2008 at 10:14 pm

  2. Chris

    Hey bro, I’ve always known u to be a fighter. You fight for what u believe in and u fight for what u think is right. You dont give up easily and u dont quit until u succeed. I believe same is true here. Although the light at the end of the tunnel maybe dimmer than those of other challenges u have faced and overcome in your life, you still know what the end result will be. Use that as your source of comfort and strength. You will get through this. I love you bro!

    September 9, 2008 at 1:51 am

Leave a Reply

