A disciples journey

Walking At The Speed Of Turtle

Recovery… That’s a big word. The return to a normal state of health, mind, and strength; recovery. So what exactly am I recovering to? Its very obvious that things will never be quite like it used to be. In fact there is no way to know what the end result will look like. I can’t recover to the normality I used to have. I will recover to a new state of “normal”, but what will it look like? According to the Doctor, there is only a small chance that I will regain my full leg use and motion again. As it stands right now it doesn’t seem like I will have full motion again. In fact I will probably forever feel chronic pain in my knee and have limited bending. Which also tells me that I will likely always have a cane handy to help relieve the pressure on my knee. No more running around or jumping… Too much wear and I will have to have knee replacement surgery. People just don’t seem to understand the extent in which my leg was broken to. I turned it into shards that ripped through my leg tissue and muscle. Not something easy to “recover” from. I don’t have a problem accepting the fact that I can’t be running around, its just crazy to think about how much of an impact it has made on my future. The cool thing is I get to collect cool looking canes, and will probably always get to park in the handicap zone =). Having a bum leg isn’t so bad, it helps give new connotation to the world around me. 

“The New Normal”

///Clay///

Leave a Reply

