A disciples journey

Twenty-Ten

The first decade of the 21st century comes to a close. I look back and realize how much the world around me has changed. I was 13 going on 14 in the dawn of the new century, only concerned with what new girl I was going to meet(and avoiding school work)… Now ten years later I am a man. Married. Unemployed… and broken. The people who have been closest to me have changed considerably since then. There was James,  Chris, Daniel, then Kathryn and my new Church. The past of old friends and good memories continue to be apart of me, molding me into who I have become. My developing personality had a spike, and many things “new” came and replaced the “old”. The catalyst, a motorcycle accident in June of ’08. Now here I sit still suffering the consequences of that action a year and a half later.

The future is very uncertain. Where I will be going from here is a coin toss… Though I am weak and a sinner I put my hope and trust in God. HE alone will help keep me vigilant for what is to come. It is hard to stay narrow when I make it to Church only once a month. With all thats transpiring in my life and my lack of physical independence I am forced to take what is offered. This is that point in life where being choosy is not an option though I pretend it is. None the less I have my Bible, my Weekly Wisdom Lessons, and the books supplied by my good friend, and brother in Christ, Micah.

I would like to say that my walk with God is in a constant state of growth, but that would be a lie. Now since my accident I have been more focused on what God wants over what I want but I still struggle to give it all over to HIM. My weekly wisdom lesson said recently that, “Many people wouldn’t dare going physically hungry; yet they starve themselves spiritually. If you ate food only once a week, you’d certainly die of starvation and malnutrition. Yet countless Christians do exactly that in their spiritual lives.” I know that I can be guilty of this. despite all of that I can say on the positive side that, knowing your problems is the first step to correcting them. One step at a time my wife and I march into the future.

“To walk, is to be blessed”

///Clay///

2 responses

  1. mema

    This is very good and so honest. It makes me sad and glad all at the same time. God will do something good with all of this. That s what I hinge my life on. Love ya”

    January 14, 2010 at 12:46 am

  2. freshcoffey

    Clay,
    Just remember that God sees you not as a sinner but as the finished product He knows you will be in the future. He loves you like a father. Imagine how your father loves you and God’s love is that much greater. And remember you can always watch church online… 😉
    PeACe
    daneK

    January 14, 2010 at 11:46 pm

Leave a Reply

